Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Euro Zone deadlines and dates

TIMELINE (source: http://blogs.wsj.com/source/2011/09/27/euro-crisis-calendar/? )

Wednesday, Sept. 28

  • The troika return to Athens to continue assessing Greece’s progress in cutting its budget deficit. The talks are crucial, because without the €8 billion bailout payment the country runs a high risk of going bust.

Tuesday, Sept. 27

  • Slovenia votes at 1800 GMT on changes to the EFSF.

Wednesday, Sept. 28

  • Finland is due to vote on changes to the EFSF.

Thursday, Sept. 29

  • Germany’s and Estonia’s parliaments are due to vote on EFSF changes. Spanish banks face a deadline to meet new capitalization requirements.

Friday, Sept. 30

  • Austria votes on increasing the country’s share of contribution to the EFSF.

Early October

  • Dutch parliament votes changes to the EFSF.

Monday, Oct. 3

  • The meeting of euro-zone finance ministers. Markets expected this meeting to yield a decision on Greece’s next aid tranche, but officials have sought to dismiss this.
  • National and regional purchasing managers manufacturing data for September will highlight to extent to which the euro zone’s debt crisis is spilling over into the real economy and increasing the risk of a euro-zone recession.

Tuesday, Oct. 4

  • European Union finance ministers meeting.
  • Euro-zone unemployment data for September.

Wednesday, Oct. 5

  • National and regional purchasing managers’ index for the services sector for September.

Thursday, Oct. 6

  • ECB rate decision, outgoing ECB President Jean-Claude Trichet’s last press meeting in this role.
  • Spain issues April 2014 bonds.
  • France issues long-term bonds.

Tuesday, Oct. 11

  • Greek and Italian T-bill auctions.

Thursday, Oct. 13

  • Italian bond auction.

Friday, Oct. 14-Saturday, Oct. 15

  • G-20 finance ministers meeting.

Monday, Oct. 17-Tuesday, Oct. 18

  • EU Council meeting

Tuesday, Oct. 18

  • Spanish and Greek T-bill auctions.

Thursday, Oct. 20

  • Spanish and French bond auctions.

Tuesday, Oct. 25

  • Spanish T-bill auction.

After Oct. 25

  • Slovak parliament votes changes to the EFSF.

Friday, Oct. 28

  • Italian bond auction.

Monday, Oct. 31

  • Belgian bond auction.